Ceiling dreams

The house we bought does not have high ceilings. It is pretty much 8′ everywhere in the house, which is comfortable, but not stunning. I love ceiling details. Ceiling tiles, exposed wood beam and coffered ceilings are all ceiling features I swoon over, but you have to be careful when your ceilings are not high with such adornment as it could make the room look smaller.

I want to add a coffered ceiling look to our dining room without losing height and I stumbled upon this photo via Houzz:

I love the look it gives to the room and the contrast it provides to the paint on the ceiling.  I think this is something I can recreate on my own (with a little help from my dad). I will keep you posted on how this works out!

2 thoughts on “Ceiling dreams

  1. Pingback: Halfway There | Dress This Nest

  2. Pingback: How to Build a Faux Coffered Ceiling (Even If Carpentry Really Isn’t Your Thing) | Dress This Nest

Leave a comment